Bethel College Holds NuOmicron Induction

The local Nursing Honor Society, Sigma Theta Tau – NuOmicron Chapter, held their induction ceremony March 25, 2007, at 2 p.m. in the Bethel College Octorium.  The NuOmicron Chapter has graduate nurses from Bethel College, Goshen College and St. Mary's College.  Nursing alumni, faculty from the three colleges and community members are all part of the organization.

The following 50 students and three community members were inducted:

Bethel College                    Goshen College
Kristen Bowen                    Melissa Gephart
Sarah Davis                         Rosemary Gest
Elizabeth Doorn                    Kirsten Hartwig
Simeon Heckman                    Heather Horst
Ruth Johnson                         Celia Impey-DeLagrange
Sheri Komdeur                    Naomi Kern
Rachel Marks                         Sheri Lackey
Venita Massey                         Laurel Mast
Susan Mierau                         Erica Nofziger
Beverly Robbins                    Joel Nofziger               
Stephanie Swanson                    Rachel Nofziger
Sheri Weiss                         Helen Orvis
Katie Westcomb                    Miranda Parrish
Larae Woudstra                    Nathan Picklesimer

Bethel College MSN                    Christian Reisinger
Janice Eigsti                         Andrea Shepherd
Karen Rose                         Rachel Slentz
Barbara White                         Robin Speed

St. Mary's College                    Nurse Leaders
Shela Abbott                         Pam Karsen
Vivian Coney                         Susan Pierce
Kaitlin Cox                         Mary Grace Pries
Jacklyn Flinchum
Sara Jane Houberg
Kristina Kronewitter
Nicole Leach
Claire Mazza
Erin Nolan
Amy Parker
Kathryn Shaffer
Amber Steury
Julia Strong
Mary Timler
Ashely Vachon

Nancy R. Hellyer, BSN, MBA, president and CEO of Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center, presented the keynote address. President Brenda Srof from Goshen College led the induction.  Vice presidents, Deb Gillum from Bethel College, Annette Peacock-Johnson from St. Mary's College and Elizabeth Gunden, all participated in planning the program.  Deans and chairpersons from the three participating colleges, Dr. Ruth Davidhizar from Bethel College, Vicky Kirkton from Goshen College and Dr. Linda Zoeller from St. Mary's College, were all present to congratulate the inductees.

Bethel College is an accredited Christian college of the arts and sciences offering associates, bachelor's and master's degrees in more than 50 areas of study. The current enrollment of more than 2,081 includes students from 34 states and Puerto Rico, 12 countries, more than 25 denominations and 16 percent from culturally diverse backgrounds. Scholarships are available based upon a variety of factors including academic achievement, talent in the arts or athletics, ethnicity and church affiliation. Bethel offers classes at four locations: the Mishawaka campus, the Elkhart Campus and two satellite locations (in Nappanee and in Dowagiac, Mich.). The main Bethel campus is situated on 75 wooded acres in Mishawaka, Ind.

*Editor's note: photos are available on request.
# # #